Updated Vocab and Signs, 1-18

With this post comes a major new recension of our growing digital glossary and sign list for GAkk-2. Improvements include:

  1. Extensive new logogram cross-references between the vocab list and sign list.
  2. Additional vocab and signs from contracts and Hammurapi included.
  3. As always, typos and other errors corrected whenever found (if you see any errors while using these files, please let me know).

I am in hopes that this will become the ultimate digital reference to GAkk-2. Let me know what you think.

P.S. If anyone is interested, here are the top ways that I use these files when I study:

  1. Use the search function in Excel to look up vocab and signs.
  2. Use the “Sort” function in Excel to scroll alphabetically through the vocab or the sign values, or to see the vocab and signs grouped by lesson or Labat number (for Labat, sort by column A in the sign list; the JPG files are named according to their Labat number).
  3. Merge the files into Perpetua to create flashcards, then study the flashcards.
  4. Copy needed images from the Excel sign list and insert them into a Word document, for instance when an assignment says to write something in cuneiform. (I’ve been typing all my assignments, so I figure that inserting an image of a cuneiform sign is tantamount to typing a Roman character!)
  5. There are no doubt other uses for these spreadsheets and images that I haven’t thought of. If you can think of any, please share them!

 

Leave a comment